The Department of Town and Regional Planning at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) has been inexistence since the early seventies offering a diploma study programme within the Department of Civil Engineering, Land Survey and Cartography.

The Department has articulated with other tertiary planning programmes in South Africa and the sub-region, especially the Polytechnic of Namibia. While the planning milieu and focus has been Cape Town and the Western Cape, the Department increasingly trains planning technicians and professionals from the African continent as well as the Far East.

The CPUT is offering planning programmes in the form of a three (3) year Diploma in Town and Regional Planning and a Bachelor of Technology in Town and Regional Planning. These two qualifications hold SACPLAN Accreditation. The Department also offers a Master of Technology in Town and Regional Planning, which is a research degree.


List of SACPLAN accredited planning qualifications currently being offered

National Diploma: Town and Regional Planning (ND TRP)

Bachelor of Technology: Town and Regional Planning (BTech TRP)

SACPLAN Disclaimer

The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. The information is provided by the South African Council for Planners (SACPLAN) and while we endeavour to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind.